Objective-C and iOS Refresher

2013-05-13 23.11.02I’ve been on Christmas vacation now for about a week and won’t go back until some time after the new year so I think that it is time to have a well needed refresher before I start on any ideas for an app or make any kind of rough app design mockup. I’ve been spending time with family, eating good and stuffing myself to the point where I don’t want to do anything but sleep and watch college bowl games but now it’s about time to have a ‘sprint’ so to speak. I will brush through standard topics just to make sure I don’t miss anything then move on to things like Categories, Protocols, Property Lists, KVC, Blocks and Core Data – most of which I have just glanced over and haven’t applied it to any sample code (I like to go through a topic or two, then come up with a code snippet to do what I have read about and then finally, look at the docs to see if there anything else to add beyond the high-level topic concepts/examples that are given to me).

This gives me the opportunity to continually use the documentation online while going more than ‘skin deep’ on topics that most books just don’t include. Speaking of books, the pic above is a list of recent material that I have accumulated, so I will be using those as my go to default source and then when I want to branch out I will look at the docs/stack overflow/google etc for any extra insight/information that I can find.

Leave a comment